How to choose a phone plan

A short method: measure your data use, pick the network, then compare the 12-month cost.

Prices on this page were last verified on .

12 plans in the catalogue currently match this brief. Monthly prices in this selection run from $0 to $15.

Ranked on the real cost over 24 months, the best option today is the TextNow Free plan: $0.00 a month, or $0.00 a month on average once the promotional period and any activation fee are included ($0.00 over two years).

Matching plans (12)

Verified tariff#1

Free plan

TextNow · 1 line

  • 0 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$0/mo$0first year

$0.00/mo over 24 months ($0.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#2

12 Months of Light Plan

US Mobile · 1 line

  • 2 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract
$8/mo$96first year

$8.00/mo over 24 months ($192.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#3

Light Plan

US Mobile · 1 line

  • 2 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract
$10/mo$120first year

$10.00/mo over 24 months ($240.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#4

Starter 2 GB

Tello · 1 line

  • 2 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$10/mo$120first year

$10.00/mo over 24 months ($240.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#5

Essentials

RedPocket · 1 line

  • Unlimited data
  • 1 line
  • Network not stated
  • No contract
$10/mo$120first year

$10.00/mo over 24 months ($240.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#6

Unlimited International Plan — 5 GB

Lyca Mobile · 1 line

  • 5 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Network not stated
  • No contract

$10 for the first 12 months, then $19 · 47% below the standard rate

$10/mo$120first year

$14.50/mo over 24 months ($348.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#7

1 GB

AirVoice Wireless · 1 line

  • 1 GB data
  • 1 line
  • AT&T
  • No contract
$12/mo$144first year

$12.00/mo over 24 months ($288.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#8

Talk & Text Plan — 3 months prepaid

Ultra Mobile · 1 line

  • 0.5 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$13/mo$156first year

$13.00/mo over 24 months ($312.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#9

Everyday 10 GB

Tello · 1 line

  • 10 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract

$10 for the first 3 months, then $15 · 33% below the standard rate

$10/mo$165first year

$14.38/mo over 24 months ($345.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#10

1 GB — 30-day plan

Tracfone · 1 line

  • 1 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract

$10 for the first 2 months, then $15 · 33% below the standard rate

$10/mo$170first year

$14.58/mo over 24 months ($350.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#11

Unlimited 10

MobileX · 1 line

  • Unlimited data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon
  • No contract
$14.88/mo$178.56first year

$14.88/mo over 24 months ($357.12 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#12

6GB — 12 months prepaid

Mint Mobile · 1 line

  • 6 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$15/mo$180first year

$15.00/mo over 24 months ($360.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Open this selection in the full comparator

We are funded by advertising, not by the plans we list. No operator pays for a position in this comparison. How we work.

Frequently asked questions

What is the first thing to check before comparing prices?
Coverage at the two addresses where you spend most of your time. A cheap plan on a network that does not reach your street is not cheap, and coverage is the one thing you cannot change after signing up.
How much data do I actually use?
Your current carrier’s app shows the last three months. Use the highest of the three rather than the average, because a holiday month or a week of travel is what pushes people over the cap.
Why compare the 12-month cost instead of the monthly price?
Because promotional rates expire. A plan advertised at $20 that rises to $40 after three months costs more over a year than a flat $32 — and the 12-month column on each card already reflects that.
Is unlimited always the safe choice?
Only if you use more than 15 to 20 GB. Below that, a metered plan on the same network is usually cheaper, and the “unlimited” label hides a high-speed allowance that is smaller than it sounds.

Related guides