Cheaper alternatives to Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile

Prepaid plans under $30 on the same three networks, ranked by real 24-month cost.

Prices on this page were last verified on .

20 plans in the catalogue currently match this brief. Monthly prices in this selection run from $0 to $19.

Ranked on the real cost over 24 months, the best option today is the TextNow Free plan: $0.00 a month, or $0.00 a month on average once the promotional period and any activation fee are included ($0.00 over two years).

Matching plans (20)

Verified tariff#1

Free plan

TextNow · 1 line

  • 0 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$0/mo$0first year

$0.00/mo over 24 months ($0.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#2

12 Months of Light Plan

US Mobile · 1 line

  • 2 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract
$8/mo$96first year

$8.00/mo over 24 months ($192.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#3

Light Plan

US Mobile · 1 line

  • 2 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract
$10/mo$120first year

$10.00/mo over 24 months ($240.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#4

Starter 2 GB

Tello · 1 line

  • 2 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$10/mo$120first year

$10.00/mo over 24 months ($240.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#5

Essentials

RedPocket · 1 line

  • Unlimited data
  • 1 line
  • Network not stated
  • No contract
$10/mo$120first year

$10.00/mo over 24 months ($240.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#6

1 GB

AirVoice Wireless · 1 line

  • 1 GB data
  • 1 line
  • AT&T
  • No contract
$12/mo$144first year

$12.00/mo over 24 months ($288.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#7

Talk & Text Plan — 3 months prepaid

Ultra Mobile · 1 line

  • 0.5 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$13/mo$156first year

$13.00/mo over 24 months ($312.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#8

Everyday 10 GB

Tello · 1 line

  • 10 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract

$10 for the first 3 months, then $15 · 33% below the standard rate

$10/mo$165first year

$14.38/mo over 24 months ($345.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#9

Unlimited International Plan — 5 GB

Lyca Mobile · 1 line

  • 5 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Network not stated
  • No contract

$10 for the first 12 months, then $19 · 47% below the standard rate

$10/mo$120first year

$14.50/mo over 24 months ($348.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#10

1 GB — 30-day plan

Tracfone · 1 line

  • 1 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract

$10 for the first 2 months, then $15 · 33% below the standard rate

$10/mo$170first year

$14.58/mo over 24 months ($350.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#11

Unlimited 10

MobileX · 1 line

  • Unlimited data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon
  • No contract
$14.88/mo$178.56first year

$14.88/mo over 24 months ($357.12 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#12

6GB — 12 months prepaid

Mint Mobile · 1 line

  • 6 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$15/mo$180first year

$15.00/mo over 24 months ($360.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#13

Unlimited International Plan — 8 GB

Lyca Mobile · 1 line

  • 8 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Network not stated
  • No contract
$15/mo$180first year

$15.00/mo over 24 months ($360.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#14

12 Months of Unlimited Flex

US Mobile · 1 line

  • Unlimited data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract
$17.50/mo$210first year

$17.50/mo over 24 months ($420.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#15

17GB — 12 months prepaid

Mint Mobile · 1 line

  • 17 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract

$15 for the first 12 months, then $20 · 25% below the standard rate

$15/mo$180first year

$17.50/mo over 24 months ($420.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#16

3 GB

AirVoice Wireless · 1 line

  • 3 GB data
  • 1 line
  • AT&T
  • No contract
$18/mo$216first year

$18.00/mo over 24 months ($432.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#17

4 GB

Ultra Mobile · 1 line

  • 4 GB data
  • 1 line
  • T-Mobile
  • No contract
$19/mo$228first year

$19.00/mo over 24 months ($456.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#18

12 Months of Unlimited Starter

US Mobile · 1 line

  • Unlimited data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract

$16.58 for the first 12 months, then $22.50 · 26% below the standard rate

$16.58/mo$198.96first year

$19.54/mo over 24 months ($468.96 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#19

4 GB — 30-day plan

Tracfone · 1 line

  • 4 GB data
  • 1 line
  • Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile
  • No contract

$15 for the first 2 months, then $20 · 25% below the standard rate

$15/mo$230first year

$19.58/mo over 24 months ($470.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Verified tariff#20

Plus

RedPocket · 1 line

  • Unlimited data
  • 1 line
  • Network not stated
  • No contract

$10 for the first 1 month, then $20 · 50% below the standard rate

$10/mo$230first year

$19.58/mo over 24 months ($470.00 total) · No activation fee · taxes extra

Open this selection in the full comparator

We are funded by advertising, not by the plans we list. No operator pays for a position in this comparison. How we work.

Frequently asked questions

What is an MVNO, and why is it cheaper?
An MVNO is a carrier that does not build its own network: it buys wholesale access from Verizon, AT&T or T-Mobile and resells it. Without towers, stores or device subsidies to pay for, its prices are usually well below the host network’s own plans.
Do these alternatives get the same coverage as the major carriers?
They use the same towers, so the coverage map is broadly identical. What can differ is priority: on a busy site, an MVNO line may be deprioritised behind the host network’s own customers, which shows up as slower data rather than a lost signal.
Will I get 5G on an alternative carrier?
Usually yes where the host network offers it, but access to the fastest bands is not guaranteed on every plan. Where the offer states the network it uses, that network is shown on the plan card; check the plan detail page for speed notes.
Can I keep my number when switching?
Yes. Porting requires the account number and a transfer PIN from your current provider. It has nothing to do with your credit file, and the number moves to the new SIM when you activate it.
What is the trade-off compared with a major carrier?
Less in-store support, deprioritised data on congested sites and, in most cases, no device financing or bundled perks. If you buy your phone outright and do not need a shop to walk into, the saving is usually worth it.
How much cheaper is an alternative in practice?
It depends on the plan, but the gap is often large on single lines: the plans ranked here are all under $30 a month, and the 24-month column shows the real average once fees and promotional periods are included.

Related guides